Car Accident Laws in South Carolina
Being involved in a car accident is never a pleasant experience, and there are many things to consider if you were injured or sustained property damages with your vehicle. When you are filing a car accident claim it is always important to check up on the local laws of your state. Today we take a closer look at the car accident laws in the palmetto state better known as South Carolina!
South Carolina Car Accident Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations essentially determines the strict time limit an individual has to bring a lawsuit to court. Keep in mind that the statute of limitations does not apply to car insurance claims. In the state of South Carolina, the law gives you three years to file a claim to the state court for a civil remedy in case of a car accident injury, vehicle damage, or wrongful death resulting from a car crash. The clock starts running on the day in which the accident occurred.
Comparative Negligence in South Carolina
The comparative negligence rule is enforced when more than one party shares the responsibility for the accident. This means that if you bring a lawsuit and are found to be partially at fault for the car crash, your percentage of fault will be subtracted from your compensation. For example, if you are found to be 10 percent responsible for a car accident and you sustained losses of $100,000 total, your compensation would be $100,000 – $10,000 = $90,000.
Frequently Asked Questions