Car Accident Laws in Virginia
Virginia law like many other states requires that all car accidents are reported to the state police or local law enforcement if they result in injury, death, or property damage. Failing to do so can result in a significant fine, or worse, jail time depending on the damage caused by the crash.
What Is Virginia’s Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Lawsuits?
In the State of Virginia, the statute of limitations for injuries caused by a motor vehicle collision (MVC) is two years. This means that plaintiffs have 24 months from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. Missing the deadline will void their claim.
What Is the Contributory Negligence in Virginia for Car Accident Cases?
Virginia is one of the few states in the United State of America that follows the pure contributory negligence rule. Under this rule, if a plaintiff is the least bit at fault for the accident, even at 1%, then they are prohibited from receiving any damages.
What Are the Virginia Insurance Requirements and Laws?
According to state laws, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle without the following minimum amounts of liability insurance:
- $20,000 for property damage per accident;
- $25,000 for bodily harm or death of one person in an accident;
- $50,000 for total bodily harm or death in an accident (i.e. for all the persons involved in the accident);
For legal consultations simply fill out the short form Here to reach a professional lawyer today.